You still want a cup of Jawa juice?

Sarlacc's nectar and the truth about Boba's escape, y DanSto, on Eurobricks

 

The contests held by Techlug, a French forum specialized in LEGO Technic and Star Wars, always feature a very creative objective. Take that time the participants had to imagine and make an All-Terrain Dewback Transporter, or had to come up with a tribute to Jabba or Artoo. The question around which the last contest revolved is “What’s at the bottom of the Great Pitt of Carkoon?”. A Jawa juice distillery, is DanSto’s answer. He built an impressive creation showcasing the most gruesome part of the Sarlacc, it’s belly, and a wound in it. Through that wound, digestive saps flow that the Jawa’s discovered and learned to distill in a supposedly delicious drink. They named it, inappropriately poetic, the Sarlacc’s nectar. And did you know this is the way Boba Fett managed to escape? You see DanSto is a very creative storyteller. But he’s an incredible builder as well. The sculpting of the layers of sand and rock is beautiful, the technical installations are very interesting and the organic texture of the Sarlacc is… frighteningly realistic. There are loads of small details and techniques to be admired in this creation. The rich textures are my highlight though. I love the use of smooth versus studded surfaces for the dunes, or the expert mixture of different browns to give depth to the great expanses of soil and rock. And I’ve never seen anything quite as interesting and disturbing as that Sarlacc’s stomach. It’s a welcome change from all of the technical greebles we get to see all day. So let those debris of some recent explosion behind, enter the hatch, discover the Jawa’s quarters and facilities, and investigate the Sarlacc in the topic, if you’ve got the guts.

One thought on “You still want a cup of Jawa juice?

  1. Greetings I am so excited I found yokur site, I really found you by error, while I
    was researching on Digg for something else, Regardless
    I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous posst and a all round enjokyable blog (I also loe the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to look over iit all at the moment but I have book-marked itt and aldo included your RSS feeds,
    so when I hafe time I will be back to read a great deal more,
    Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a comment